June 2017

June 14, 2017
Professor Ashutosh Goel has been selected as an Associate Editor of the International Journal of Applied Glass Science (IJAGS). IJAGS is a leading peer-reviewed scientific journal in the field of glass science and technology published by Wiley on the behalf of the American Ceramic Society (

May 2017

May 9, 2017
 Congratulations to Jamie Wooding (Class of 2017) and Jacob Kupferberg (’17)!! They are recipients of the National Science Foundation’s 2017 Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP).  Eight students from Rutgers University, four of those from the School of Engineering, received this award.

April 2017

April 28, 2017
Professor Akdogan was once again awarded “Professor of the Year” by the Engineering Governing Council (EGC) for the academic year 2016/2017.  The EGC is a student run engineering governing body that works with the faculty and administration to represent the interests of the engineering students here at Rutgers.   The “Professor of the Year” award is presented in April at their annual Leadership Conference.
April 10, 2017
Congratulations Mark!  Mark Shaefer, a graduate student working with Professor Richard Haber and Vladislav Domnich, won Best Poster Award at the 2017 Mach Conference this past week with the poster titled "Hardness and Indentation-Induced Amorphizication in BxC".  The Mach Conference, presented by The Hopkins Extreme Materials Institute, showcases multiscale research in materials, emphasizing the advancement of science and engineering of materials and structures in extreme environments.  

March 2017

March 10, 2017
MSE Professor Mannish Chhowalla and undergraduate Jacob Kupferberg are highlighted for their groundbreaking innovation in graphene production in RU's video "Convergence of Big Ideas".    

February 2017

February 24, 2017
Richard E. Riman, distinguished professor of materials science and engineering in the School of Engineering at Rutgers University–New Brunswick, has been elected as a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors. The Academy announced its 2016 Fellows on December 13.  The Academy's fellows include more than 94 presidents and senior leaders of research universities, as well as 28 Nobel Laureates.
February 23, 2017
Rutgers University has licensed a technology that allows for the mass production of high-quality graphene at a reduced cost to Everpower International Holdings Co., Ltd. (“Everpower”).
February 17, 2017
Attacking the Flu by Hijacking Infected Cells They’re called TIPs and their task would be to infiltrate and outcompete influenza, HIV, Ebola and other viruses.
February 17, 2017
Glenn Amatucci, research professor and director, Energy Storage Research Group, is the principal investigator of an award totaling $1,077,157. The project, titled Self-Forming Thin Interphases and Electrodes Enabling 3-D Structured High Energy Density Batteries, is being supported by the U.S. Department of Energy. Learn more about Amatucci here.
February 7, 2017
Professor Manish Chhowalla has been elected to the class of 2017 Materials Research Society (MRS) Fellows. According to MRS: "The title of MRS Fellow honors those MRS members who are notable for their distinguished research accomplishments and their outstanding contributions to the advancement of materials research, world-wide. The maximum number of new Fellow appointments each year is limited to 0.2% of the current MRS regular membership. Thus, the distinction is highly selective.