Faculty and Alumni Awards

Prizes and Special Recognitions

2017         Professor  Klein                                        Douglass Project Award for the Advancement of Women in STEM, on the occasion of Douglass College’s Centennial Celebration, October 6, 2017,

                                                                                  jointly with the Project SUPER Research Symposium.

2017         Professor Klein                                         Life Achievement Award of the International Sol-Gel Society, given out every other year since 2009, awarded at the 19th International Sol-Gel Conference,

                                                                                  September 7, 2017, Liege,Belgium. https://www.isgs.org

2017         Professor Safari                                       2017 IEEE-UFFC Robert E. Newnham Award


Recent graduate Dr. Vishnuvardhanan Vijayakumar

Won a prize for the start-up Thermovolt Solar in the 2014 MIT Clean Energy Competition.


Alumna Professor Michelle Dickinson

2014 Finalist for the New Zealand Women of Influence Awards.


Professor Chhowalla

 Institute of Physics - Ireland Lectureship


Professor Lehman

Received the John Cope Memorial Leadership Award from the International Crystal Federation


Professor Riman

Inducted into the New Jersey Inventors Hall of Fame for his patents on cements that mitigate CO2.


Professor Klein

World Academy of Ceramics Award "For Personal Merits in the Field", in the 14th Biennial Induction


Professor Fabris

ASEE/Air Force Summer Faculty Fellowship


Professor Safari

World Academy of Ceramics Award “For Personal Merits in the Field”, in the 13th Biennial Induction


Professor Safari

Ferroelectrics Achievement Awards, IEEE-Ultrasonics Ferroelectrics and Frequency Control Society


Professor Safari

President, IEEE-Ultrasonics Ferroelectrics and Frequency Control Society


Professor Safari

US- Japan Bridgeman Building Awards


Professor Safari

Distinguished Service Award, IEEE- Ultrasonics Ferroelectrics and Frequency Control Society

Large Research Awards

Year Faculty


2014 Richard Haber Won a $9 million role in Army-funded research to develop armor that better protects soldiers from battlefield threats.
2014 Fred Cosandey Won $720,000 DOE - Energy frontier Research Center (EFRC)
2013 Jen Lynch Won a $1.8 million grant from ONR to study Graphene-Reinforced Polymer Composites for Lightweight Armor Applications